Curly Hair Styles

Haircare Guide For Best Curly Hair Styles

Growth Stages of the Hair:

Hair on the scalp grows about .3-4 mm per day or about 6 inches per year. Hair will go through various stages of growth and shedding. The hair has three major growth stages: anagen, catagen and telogen.

Catagen – The catagen phase lasts about 2-3 weeks and 3% of all hairs are in this transitional stage at any time. During this time growth stops and the outer root sheath shrinks and attaches to the root of the hair.

Telogen – Telogen is the resting phase. This phase lasts for about 100 days for hairs on the scalp. During this phase, the hair follicle is completely at rest and the club hair is completely formed. Pulling out a hair in this phase will reveal a solid, hard, dry, white material at the root. Approximately 25-100 telogen hairs are shed normally each day.

Anagen – Anagen is the active phase of the hair in which the cells in the root of the hair are dividing rapidly. A new hair is formed and pushes the club hair up the follicle and eventually out. During this phase the hair grows about 1 cm every 28 days. Scalp hair stays in this active phase of growth for 2-6 years. Some people have difficulty growing their hair beyond a certain length because they have a short active phase of growth. On the other hand, people with very long hair have a long active phase of growth.

Curly Hair Styles Photo Gallery

Related Post

Leave a Reply